The Ireland Funds 2018
NJ Golf Classic

The Ireland Funds 2018 NJ Golf Classic Committee with Honoree Bob Garrett. L – R: Kyle Clifford, Anthony Callaghan, Eddie Dowling, Michael Higgins, Bob Garrett, John Fitzpatrick, Martin Kehoe, Angus Miller, Pat Leahy, Matthew McBride, George Stall, Michael Hurly, and Pat Tully.

By Irish America Staff
November / December 2018

On Monday, October 1st, supporters of The Ireland Funds gathered at Bayonne Golf Club for the 16th annual NJ Golf Classic.

This year’s honoree was Bob Garrett, New York Office Managing Partner, KPMG LLP.

<em>Kyle Clifford,2018 honoree Bob Garrett, and John Fitzpatrick.</em>

Kyle Clifford,2018 honoree Bob Garrett, and John Fitzpatrick.

After the opening brunch, Pat Tully, The Ireland Funds America VP of Development, welcomed the guests, went over the rules for the day and sent the golfers out on to the challenging links of Bayonne.  Later that evening, Kyle Clifford, The Ireland Funds America Vice President of Development, opened the formal dinner program, thanked the committee, co-chairs and sponsors and welcomed honoree Bob Garrett to the podium to accept his award.

Bob thanked his friends and KPMG Partners in attendance and spoke warmly about the key work that The Ireland Funds does for Irish causes around the world.

<em>Patrick Murphy, Michael Higgins, Loretta Brennan Glucksman, and Maureen Sullivan.</em>

Patrick Murphy, Michael Higgins, Loretta Brennan Glucksman, and Maureen Sullivan.

The Ireland Funds America Chairman, John Fitzpatrick, then addressed the supporters and announced that the event raised over $250,000 to assist Irish charities through The Ireland Funds’ grant round.

Pat Tully followed John Fitzpatrick with a spirited live auction including a VIP trip to the All-Ireland Football Final in Dublin in September 2019.  Following the live auction, The Ireland Funds America Chairman Emeritus, Loretta Brennan Glucksman thanked John Fitzpatrick and congratulated the committee on another successful NJ Golf Classic.

<em>Hillary Toohey, Tony Dunne, David Evans, Barry Harbison, and guest.</em>

Hillary Toohey, Tony Dunne, David Evans, Barry Harbison, and guest.

Co-chairs, Pat Leahy and Matthew McBride presented the golf awards, with the winning team going to George Stoll and GMS partners with a -19 Net score. KPMG and Broadridge generously sponsored the event and Ott Miller Chevrolet for sponsored the hole-in-one prize. ♦

Leave a Reply


More Articles

My Wild Irish Mother

℘℘℘ In commemorating the wonderful life of Mary Higgins Clark, who passed away on January 31, 2020, we honor...


William J. Mullaney

Bill Mullaney is a managing director in Deloitte’s insurance practice. In this role, he works with life, annuities,...


Give It a Hurl: GPA
All-Star Gala & Super11s

Join the Gaelic Players Association on Friday, November 15 for the annual Ireland-US Gaelic Heritage Awards &...


Kieran McLoughlin

Kieran is CEO of VentureWave Capital, which has established the first Impact Investing fund aimed at qualified...