October 15, 1995

Seamus Heaney won the Nobel Prize for Literature on this day in 1995. Heaney became the fourth Irish writer to be honored with the Nobel Prize, following WB Yeats, George Bernard Shaw, and Samuel Beckett. The Nobel committee awarded Heaney for his “works of lyrical beauty and ethical depth, which exalt everyday miracles and the living past.”

Leave a Reply


More Articles

Remembering Michael Collins, Pilot of The First Moon Landing, and a True Pioneer

The most trusted designated driver of all time has died. Astronaut Michael Collins passed away at his home in...


Astronaut Michael Collins on the Moon Landing

The most trusted designated driver of all time reflects on the ride 50 years after lift-off and offers wisdom to those...


Striking Gold – Transcontinental
Railroad Turns 150

Irish contributions to American history received a special recognition this week. The 150th anniversary of connecting...


August 1

Officially known in the Celtic calendar as Lughnasa and the first day of Autumn, August 1st marks the celebration of...