May 3, 1921

On this day in 1921 following the Government of Ireland Act of 1920, the six Northeastern counties of Derry, Antrim, Down, Armagh, Tyrone and Fermanagh were established as a separate entity, becoming Northern Ireland. It was intended that Northern Ireland and the remaining 26 counties of Southern Ireland would be ruled as two separate territories of the United Kingdom. In 1922 following the War of Independence and the Anglo Irish Treaty, southern Ireland became the Irish Free State, with Northern Ireland opting out of the new dominion.

Leave a Reply


More Articles

Remembering Michael Collins, Pilot of The First Moon Landing, and a True Pioneer

The most trusted designated driver of all time has died. Astronaut Michael Collins passed away at his home in...


Astronaut Michael Collins on the Moon Landing

The most trusted designated driver of all time reflects on the ride 50 years after lift-off and offers wisdom to those...


Striking Gold – Transcontinental
Railroad Turns 150

Irish contributions to American history received a special recognition this week. The 150th anniversary of connecting...


August 1

Officially known in the Celtic calendar as Lughnasa and the first day of Autumn, August 1st marks the celebration of...